Thursday, 18 February 2016

INEC To Conduct 22 rerun Elections Saturday

Eight Appeal Courts sitting in different parts of the country had ordered the rerun elections following the 2015 general polls and directed INEC to conduct them from January to March 2016.
A statement from the Commission yesterday indicated that preparations were at top gear to ensure hitch-free elections in Benue, Kaduna, Plateau, Niger, Nasarawa, Kogi, Taraba and Imo states.
The elections will conduct four Senatorial elections, three federal constituency elections and fifteen state constituency elections.

The Senatorial elections will be conducted in Benue South Senatorial district; Imo North Senatorial district; Kogi Central Senatorial district and Kogi East Senatorial district.

Similarly, the Federal Constituency elections will hold in Okene/Ogori-Magongo of Kogi State, Lafia/Obi of Nasarawa State and Kurmi/Sardauna of Taraba State.
Fifteen State Constituency elections that will be conducted across Imo, Kaduna, Kogi, Plateau, Niger and Taraba states. They include: Imo: Isiala Mbano, Oru East, and Owerri West, Kaduna: Lere West, Kogi: Ofu Sc, Ankpa 1, Idah, Dekina 1 and Dekina II (Okura), Niger: Suleja;
Plateau: Langtang South, Pankshin South and Pankshin North, Taraba: Ardo Kola and Mbamga. 

Meanwhile, INEC office in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) is to present the Register of Voters to contestants and political parties fielding candidates for the Chairmanship and Councillorship elections today.